Beloved eVotional Week 4: When You Want to Fix Him

First off, I know I am like 3 days behind, but hey I was out of town with no computer. Also was enjoying my time away. But anyhoo.

GET IT OUT:

Consider the things that frustrate you about someone you care about. How have you approached those things? In what ways have you, or have you not been inviting God into those areas? 

Generally it involves me getting frustrated, crying and/or arguing with them. Depending on how much I care about them , i.e. if its a family member – I am direct. If I am in a relationship with them – I am way more passive. Maybe it’s because I have more fear of losing someone I’m in a relationship with if I am brutally honest with them. Well, in the past, 9 times out of 10 I didn’t invite God into the mix, because I didn’t know how to bring God into the mix with someone who says they believe in God but does nothing in a Godly manner.

TRUTH SAYS:

Proverbs 15:1 – “A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word strings up anger.”

Proverbs 19:13 – “A foolish child is a father’s ruin, and a quarrelsome wife is like the constant dripping of a leaky roof.”

1 Peter 3:16 – “keeping a clear conscience, so that those who speak maliciously against your good behavior in Christ may be ashamed of their slander.” – Christ-like behavior can win over the heart of another.

Matthew 7:3 – “Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye.” – Reminds us to look into the mirror.

CHALLENGE:

If you want to or consider dating a man who does not understand your faith, just know you cannot change him. Are you frustrated with his flaws? But are they character flaws or just annoyances? You can’t fix him, only he can fix himself.

BIG IDEA: SHUT UP AND PRAY

 

disclaimer: content from jordan lee soulscripts, with my spinoff.

Leave a Reply

