Beloved – Week 6: About That Purity Thing…

GET IT OUT:

I failed and resisted to write on this (well 2 weeks ago’s) devotional. Sex – what a topic. The biggest sin to most Christians. Be honest? My honesty is that in general I hate sex. I do not get the pleasure that other people get from it. After being raped twice, that pleasure feeling turns into pain. But at the same time I am sexually active. Do I enjoy it the idea of wanting it from to time? No, but do I feel like I should be guilted into and unworthy Christian because of it? absolutely not. I hate feeling shameful that I have sex, or that I have had sex, or that I was raped, twice. I hate feeling ashamed especially being raped. People always make is seem like I should have found a way to control the situation. Ugh. In 2 days it will be a one year anniversary for my second, most traumatizing rape, life experience and sex is always the topic amongst people in my life. I am always afraid of not putting out for a guy that I am interested in and they talk shit about me to others that causes people not to talk to me. Which makes me self conscious about the whole sex topic in general.

TRUTH IS:

1 Corinthians 10:12-14: “(12) So, if you think you are standing firm, be careful that you don’t fall! (13) No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it. (14) Therefore, my dear friends, flee from idolatry.”

Psalm 51:10: “Create me in a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.”

Ephesians 5:7-14

Romans 3:23: “for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,”

THE BIG IDEA: VULNERABILITY = FREEDOM

Leave a Reply

