Lent

Lent starts today, indeed it does. I always participated in it since my mom told me to as a child. But although in college, it was much harder to do and I switched it from giving up something to taking in something positive. For me, that’s what worked for me at the time. 

Now. I wasn’t gonna participate in it this year, because well I just didn’t see the point. But as I have been trying to better my health and body image, I’ve decided that it would only be smart to give up fast food. Lately and per usual, Taco Bell and McDonald’s have been my crutch when I get drunk or when I get off work late and want something quick and easy. And it’s not like I only spend like $5 on these meals either. I spend between $7 and $12. So if I go there frequent enough, I’m losing a lot of money. 

The restaurants I’m including in my no fast food for 40 days will include, but not limited to:

  • Taco Bell
  • McDonald’s 
  • Wendy’s
  • Panda Express
  • Cajun grill
  • Chick-fil-A
  • Chipotle
  • Qdoba

But I will have some exceptions that I can eat, like:

  • Panera
  • McAlister’s 
  • Mad greens

I’m only giving these options if and only if I forget my lunch for work or I just crave a salad. 

But along the lines of giving up something bad, I’ve decided to also take in something good.

Since moving to Colorado, I haven’t found a church. And even though elevation church has all their sermons online, I have yet to take a step out and watch them. I just always made up excuses. But in these forty days (and to hopefully continue past them) I plan on watching a sermon every day until I’m caught up. 

The hardest part of this will be that I’ll be going to Cabo for spring break march 9-16. But I am determined that I can find time for myself. All I’ll need is an hour or less. So probably early in the morning would be the best time. 

If you believe you can, then you can achieve. 

Leave a Reply

